When a company like Snapchat has a security breach and a file containing usernames and matching phone numbers is leaked, you expect certain steps to be taken by the company. First, you want the security exploit to be fixed. Second, you want an apology from the company and some sort of reassurance your privacy is valued.
Sadly, that's not how Snapchat has chosen to handle its current situation. On Thursday, a letter explaining what happened, and what the company was going to do to prevent it from happening again was posted on the company blog. In it you'll find nothing close to an apology; you won't even find a reference to the company taking privacy seriously.
The company stated an app update is forthcoming which will allow users to opt-out of the Find Friends feature which is to blame for the leak, and that it's making it more difficult for the same exploit to be used again.
If you're unsure if you're information was included in the leak, here's how to find out.
With your own privacy in mind, you might be considering deleting your Snapchat account. The process is simple, irreversible, and only takes about a few minutes of your time.
To delete your Snapchat account, visit snapchat.com/a/delete_account and log into your account. You'll then be prompted to enter your password again, followed by clicking on the green "Delete My Account" button. Remember, when you delete your account, it cannot be undone. After clicking on the giant green button, Snapchat will delete your account.